[#789]: A Deriva/ Adrift

Yesterday I took the time to write about something that took me a while to finally sit down and manifest. Its a bitch trying to fight the procrastination monster that lived under my bed and my laptop as well.

What I wrote about is soon to come, but something it had to do with was my fascination with the Portuguese language and the country of Brazil.

Right before writing, I was going thru my Netflix account and came across a recommendation for a movie called Adrift/ A Derive.

I set aside the 50th distraction getting in the way of my goal and waited until I completed my query to watch it.

When I finished my writing, and settled in on my couch and my queue, I was happy to find out the entire movie was in Portuguese within the beautiful beaches of Búzios, Brazil.

The film was perfect in its cinematography and the portrayal of a love story Bahia style.

The cast included one my favorite actors Vincent Cassel who never fails me.

I highly recommend it to anyone on a lazy afternoon.

Towards the end of the movie, as they panned out on the father and daughter floating on their backs in the ocean on a sunrise, I wondered:

Arent we all meant to float on our backs and bask in the sun?

Why is there any other life but that? Why does it have to be a choice?

Vincent portrayed a writer as well.

I choose that life. A linguist’s paradise.

In the meantime, while my query is proofed and I begin my first winter in NYC, I’ll keep it in my queue.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

