[#635]: Coming to America

Semmi:  But where in New York can one find a woman with grace, elegance, taste and culture? A woman suitable for a king.

they hold a magnifying glass over a map of New York…

Prince Akeem & Semmi: Queens!!!

I have just realized I am Eddie Murphy in Coming to America. My whole life has been leading up to the moment where I myself arrived and was enamored with the same dumbfounded joy of dirty streets, Walk up buildings, and soul glo commercials in window shops.

This movie has always been a family favorite. My dad’s story of how Shari, the female lead in the movie, was his babysitter when he grew up in NYC, the one who had a “crush” on him (hmm questionable pops), has been told as many times as I have seen this movie. Never laughed harder at this movie or seen it rang truer until today.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

